ECSA-llence Awards 2017 | ECSA

ECSA-llence Awards 2017

Friday 26th May 2017

The ECSA-llence Awards are all about students recognising the amazing work that goes on in Edinburgh College, from lecturers who use their knowledge and skills to really add something extra to your learning, to those that provide support and guidance to help you get through college. We hear from students all the time just how incredible many of Edinburgh College's staff are, and the ECSA-llence awards celebrate their achievements. 

On the 18th of May the Sighthill hub hosted ECSA's second ever Student Led Teaching Awards ceremony! It was an amazing evening and there were guests from all over the college and external organisations such as Sparqs, NUS and Education Scotland.

This year there were more than 700 nominations for more than 200 lecturers and over 30 class reps, which is a massive increase compared to the 267 nominations last year!

All 15 shortlisted nominees across all 5 categories were invited to the event along with other staff and students who were also nominated.

The winners of each category are as follows:

  • Feedback Award – Scott Johnson

  • Innovation in the Classroom Award – Peter Smith

  • Guiding Hand Award – Annie Ferrier

  • Class Rep of the Year Award – Meghan Joyce

  • Outstanding Lecturer of the Year Award – Lorna McLean

ECSA would like to take the time to thank everyone who helped make the event such a success, including all the staff from departments such as catering and other technical help for ensuring the event was a successful collaborative effort. A big thank you to the students who waited tables at the event and to the students who also provided live musical entertainment. It wouldn’t have been the same without you.

The second ever ECSA-llence awards was an absolute success in every way, we are immensely proud of the work everyone put in and how positive staff and students have been at committing and embracing the awards and celebrating other’s successes.

Finally, ECSA would like to congratulate everyone who was nominated for an award and to those who won an award.